Here you can define default settings for retention definitions. You can override the settings for individual definitions if needed, but if the majority of them inherit the settings it will be easy to change them from here.

File Deletion Mail Notifications
You can decide if deletion notifications need to be sent (if at all) to users, administrators, or both. Settings can be overridden for individual definitions.

Warning Mail Notifications
You can decide if warning notifications need to be sent (if at all) to users, administrators, or both. If you keep the default value of a seven day warning and you need to create a short period rule like three days, you will probably want to change warning days or disable warnings all together.

Warning UI Alert Popups
The system was designed with a defensive approach to show effective rule popup whenever you navigate to a file, folder, user or group in the web interface. Alerts are also shown in Thru Explorer.

If, for example, you have a site-level rule with a long range such as Fixed Period 365 Days, the user will get this warning all the time when he navigates the file system. He can turn it off for session duration but it will result in turning off alerts for all rules. A better way is to configure the definition not to show UI alert popups. It is recommended that you not disable alert popups in the options form, but only in special cases as needed.

Retention Cycle Frequency
Retention processing occurs in cycles every few hours as defined using this parameter. It is highly recommended not to go under 8 hours. Note that files which are subject to retention rules with automatic deletion are not deleted immediately when the rule goes into effect. Deletion will occur only in the next cycle.

• If the site is configured for an eight-hour cycle, average time for expired files will be four hours. You can reduce this average down to 30 minutes by configuring a one-hour cycle, but this can hurt the performance of the site. In general, the larger the site, the longer frequency needs to be. If your installation is hosted in the Thru data center, it is recommended to consult with the Thru operations team before reducing the frequency under eight hours.

Reset Notifications Action
This option is mainly used for troubleshooting and demo purposes where processing and notifications need to occur immediately during the next cycle. Note that the retention cycle will not occur as a result of agent (windows service) restart.

Feedback

Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Post your comment on this topic.

Please do not use this for support questions.
For customer support, please contact us here.

Post Comment