The following sections explain each of the features and functional capabilities of sending files via Thru Email.

Adding Recipients

A. [To]:
To: This is a required field that must contain at least one email address. You can browse or search the directory to add any email address using the book icon on the bottom right of the boxes, or you can insert addresses manually. If you would like to manually enter in specific addresses, the check names feature to the left of the directory icon will allow you to see if there are any exact matches in the address book to the email that you have added.

B. [Cc]:
Copy Recipients: You can copy additional recipients by entering their email address as CC. All To: and CC: Recipients will be visible to everyone who sees the email, or you may leave this field empty.

C. Bcc:
Blind Carbon Copy Recipients: You can also blind copy additional recipients by entering their email address as BCC. All To: and CC: Recipients will be visible to all the recipients, while any BCC: recipients will not be displayed. You may add your own email address here if you would like to get a copy of the Thru Email.

Adding Files as Attachments

Any attachments listed in the Attachments section were the files you selected from the SharePoint Document Center and cannot be modified.

Setting Priority

The Priority level allows you to set the level of urgency for your email with choices of Low, Normal, or High. This allows the recipient to prioritize certain emails over others.

Setting Expiration

This security function allows you to set a date of expiration to remove the file(s) from download availability. It does so by expiring and disabling the link to the document that appears in the recipient email. This is very helpful for time-sensitive material and for preventing files from being accessible indefinitely.

Requesting Message Activity Receipt (Optional)

This option is enabled by default. When you send the Thru Email, the body of the message will contain a link that will direct the recipient to a form to download the secured documents. When Request Message Activity Receipt option is selected, you will receive a notification as soon as the recipient clicks on the link to download the file. This enables you to know in real time if the recipient has downloaded the files or not.

Requiring Recipient Login (Optional)

You can also add an extra layer of security to the Thru Email and its attachments by adding the requirement to log in with a password for the recipient to access the attachments. With this feature enabled, the recipient cannot download the file until they register by verifying their email address and creating a password. If the recipient enters an email address that is not in the original recipient’s list, they will not be allowed to download the file. This prevents the information from being forwarded without authorization.

This can be very useful whenever you send Thru Email regularly to any particular contact(s) outside your organization. If the recipient has already registered, they will be able to maintain the same password each time they receive emails from you. This adds an additional level of email protection in a scenario where the recipient’s email account has been unknowingly accessed by someone other than the intended recipient(s). The unintended recipient(s) will not be able to then open the Thru Email attachments.

Your administrator may change the configuration so that Require Recipient Login will be replaced with a password box. If that is the case, you can leave the box blank if you do not want them to need a password. If you do want the added security, you can insert the password in the box that the recipient will need to access the documents.

Finally, your administrator may have the Require Recipient Login option taken off from your options. This would make the recipient either always require logging in or never require it. If the option is not available to you, then your administrator has already set this for you.

Creating Message Body

There are two ways to send an email message. You can send it just as a regular email using the_ Public Message_ tab or you can use the Private Message tab to have it sent securely.

Public Message

This is the body of the email where you can enter text that will be seen by all recipients of the message with the same format and security as a regular email.

Private Message

If the body of your email contains sensitive information, you have the option to send a Private Message using this tab. With_ Private Message_, the recipient will only be able to read the text after they have clicked on the Thru link contained in the message. The private information is delivered using a connection secured by SSL. The text is not viewable in the Thru Email notification itself. If the Thru email is password protected, then the user must enter the correct password to access it.


Clicking on Send will send your email. A progress bar will appear to notify you that your file(s) is/are being uploaded to the Thru server where a link will be sent to the recipient to download all files.

When the file transfer is complete, a confirmation screen will appear as displayed below.

Pressing Finish will take you back to your SharePoint Document Center.


Was this helpful?

Yes No
You indicated this topic was not helpful to you ...
Could you please leave a comment telling us why? Thank you!
Thanks for your feedback.

Post your comment on this topic.

Please do not use this for support questions.
For customer support, please contact us here.

Post Comment